2019/03/11

Viktoria Modesta: our Guest Star is the future in person!

More daring and surprising than ever, Crazy Horse Paris presents a series of 29 exclusive performances with a new and resolutely futuristic Guest Star. Viktoria Modesta is a strikingly different incarnation of the woman of tomorrow, free and enriched by technology.

A bionic star is born

Bionic and iconic, Viktoria Modesta, despite her youth, is already the heroine of a modern fairytale. Following a childhood spent in Latvia, Viktoria left her country at the age of 12 to live in London and was modelling when still only 15. But she was battling some very serious health issues that meant undergoing several surgeries on her left leg.  

At 20, she made a radical decision: to request an amputation below the knee, to increase her mobility and protect her future health. So it was with a very different body that Viktoria Modesta began to sculpt her new identity, inspired by her passion for alternative fashion, art and underground subculture.

A futuristic and glamorous world, far from the stereotype

Far from restricting Viktoria’s postmodern vision of the artist in the 21st century, her transformation became a strength and an asset. Her difference is an incentive as much as an essential component of her work as an artist. This young woman has become famous for a number of multidisciplinary collaborations mixing every aspect of performance, cutting edge bionics, high-tech fashion and new technology.

Imperious as the Snow Queen in the closing ceremony of the London Paralympics, Viktoria Modesta impressed the TV company, Channel 4, which produced her superb video “Prototype” – a massive YouTube hit with 11,738,000 views. Shaking up all the usual beauty tropes, she defines herself as a “bionic woman, who symbolises the freedom to choose one’s own identity”.

Viktoria will be appearing solo and with the Crazy Girls, the Crazy Horse Paris dancers, in a number of tableaux created around her futuristic world. Expect innovation, creativity, and originality in an exclusive and unique show.

“With Crazy Horse Paris, we will be pushing back the boundaries of femininity in the most innovative and surprising ways you can imagine. Hold tight!”

Viktoria Modesta

The amazing cybernetic and bionic world of Viktoria Modesta joins the most stylish cabaret in Paris for a series of exceptional performances. Crazy Horse Paris is happy and proud to welcome her onto its legendary stage from 3 to 16 June.

The future is here and it’s definitely Crazy.

Book your evening now for a show that is out of the ordinary!

11/03/2019

Viktoria Modesta : une Guest Star nommée futur

Plus audacieux et surprenant que jamais, le Crazy Horse invite pour une série de 29 représentations exclusives une nouvelle Guest Star résolument futuriste. Viktoria Modesta incarne avec toute sa différence la femme de demain, libre et sublimée par la technologie.

Naissance d’une artiste bionique

Bionique et iconique, Viktoria Modesta, malgré son jeune âge, est déjà l’héroïne d’un conte de fées moderne. Après une enfance en Lettonie, Viktoria quitte son pays à l’âge de 12 ans pour vivre à Londres, où elle devient mannequin dès ses 15 ans. Mais la jeune femme se bat contre des gros problèmes de santé, qui l’obligent à subir plusieurs opérations de la jambe gauche.

A 20 ans, elle prend une décision radicale : demander une amputation sous le genou, pour gagner en mobilité et préserver sa santé future. C’est avec ce corps différent, que, soutenue par sa passion pour la mode, l’art et la culture underground, Viktoria Modesta entreprend alors de ciseler son nouveau personnage.

Un univers futuriste et glamour, loin des stéréotypes

Loin de freiner Viktoria Modesta dans sa vision postmoderne de l’artiste du 21ème siècle, sa transformation devient une force et un atout. Sa différence est un levier autant qu’une composante essentielle de son travail d’artiste. La jeune femme s’illustre alors dans de nombreuses collaborations interdisciplinaires qui mêlent arts du spectacle, prothèses bioniques de pointe, mode high-tech et nouvelles technologies.

Impériale en Reine des Neiges lors de la cérémonie de clôture des Jeux paralympiques de Londres, Viktoria Modesta séduit la chaîne anglaise Channel 4 qui produit son superbe clip, « Prototype » – celui-ci affole les compteurs de YouTube avec 11 738 000 vues. Bousculant les diktats de la beauté, elle se définit comme une « femme bionique, symbole de la liberté de choisir sa propre identité. »

Viktoria apparaîtra seule et accompagnée des Crazy Girls, les danseuses du Crazy Horse, dans plusieurs tableaux créés autour de son univers futuriste. Attendez-vous à de la nouveauté, de la création, de l’originalité dans un spectacle exclusif qui sortira de l’ordinaire.

« Avec le Crazy Horse, nous allons repousser les limites de la féminité de la manière la plus innovante et la plus surprenante qui soit. Accrochez-vous ! » Viktoria Modesta


Le futur est maintenant et il est décidément Crazy

L’univers unique de Viktoria Modesta, cybernétique et bionique, mêlé avec celui du plus chic des cabarets parisien pour une série de performances inédites. Le Crazy Horse est heureux et fier de l’accueillir du 3 au 16 juin sur sa scène mythique.

Réservez sans tarder votre soirée pour un spectacle qui sort de l’ordinaire !